CONTRASTS: A lucky pooch

The other day while enjoying a great lunch composed of California salad and organic Thai coconut soup I saw a young man walking at a quick pace holding the hand of a 5 or 6-year-old child who was struggling to keep up. The man took no notice of the child jogging along beside him. I wondered how far they had walked in such a hurry. It make me think of how much future psychological damage the child would endure trying to keep up, to make happy, a  Father who took no notice of him or his comfort? This man obviously had no compassion for the child’s predicament. It made me sad and then I thought of how I may have pulled others along to meet my personal requirements. Hmm?

As I continued to eat, I noticed another man walking a tiny, black terrier puppy through the parking lot. The pup was now tired and reluctant to move forward as he tried to trip up and go in between the owner’s legs. The man sensed the pups discomfort, picked him up and coddled him in his arms. He patted the little pooch and kissed him on the top of his furry head.  The man showed his kindness and affection and shied away, slightly embarrassed when he saw me smiling at him. He accepted that a stranger had caught him being affectionate with his pet and moved on. I was instantly reminded of how much love a human heart can hold and how easy it is to share that love.

It’s true that you can tell a lot about a person by how they treat their animals. This man had total compassion for his pet while the other man had none for his own child. It was an interesting contrast.

One thought on “CONTRASTS: A lucky pooch

  1. Carol

    What a coincidence that I read this today as yesterday I ran into an old E.A. of my son’s. She told me to work on teaching my child how much he is paying for something and how much change he should get back. I do not intend to offend anyone and this is a concised version of our conversation, according, people from other cultures (religions) see people with disabilities as living this punishment for past lives. Needless to say, I am shocked, by the fact that people will not assist someone in need but to think that it is their job to further punish them is ridiculous to me. If what these creeps believe is true , then what happens to them in their next life?

    Like

Your thoughts are warmly welcomed

